The lungless (!) Bornean flat-headed frog, Barbourula kalimantanensis

In advance of its publication in Current Biology (apparently in volume 18), news of the paper announcing the lungless frog (the Bornean flat-headed frog, Barbourula kalimantanensis) by David Bickford and colleagues from Indonesia – Djoko Iskandar and Anggraini Barlian of Institut Teknologi Bandung, Java, Indonesia – has been released.

My eyes widened last month when I saw David editing a draft of this paper just before a staff meeting started – the title said it all. I figured it’d still be some months before I saw it in print though.


Djoko Iskandar and David Bickford dissecting a frog in the Raffles Museum last Oct.

So I was pleasantly surprised this morning when Marcus Ng buzzed me with an instant message link early this morning.

Although the paper will be published in May 2008, this news had hit the wires some hours earlier. So it is all over the internet on news and blog sites already! Just google “lungless frog“.

Well, this paper will have an excellent reception committee when it comes out in May:

Update – here are some real sweet photos of the Bornean flat-headed frog, Barbourula kalimantanensis) courtesy of David Bickford from Aug 2007.

7 thoughts on “The lungless (!) Bornean flat-headed frog, Barbourula kalimantanensis

  1. I really love this kind of weird discoveries, I’m really looking forward for the detailled article. Thanks for letting us know before its release !

Leave a comment